Create A Passionate Life

Why you never ‘should’ do anything

Posted on: October 11, 2009

Are you thinking about all the things you 'should' be doing?

Are you thinking about all the things you 'should' be doing?

Don’t believe in ‘shoulds’ – they’ll rob you of your motivation and inspiration.

What’s the problem with should?

The problem with should is that it automatically makes you wrong; saying should means you’re already not doing what you think you should be doing. You’re starting on the back foot – which isn’t a fun place to start!

Remove the shoulds and you’ll gain a clearer insight into where you are and what you want to achieve!

Let’s take some examples, “I should do the dishes”, or “I should do this work”, or “I should do something about my career”.

If we take should out of the equation, what are you left with?

“I will/won’t do the dishes”, or “I want a clean kitchen”, or “I enjoy having a tidy home”

“I will/won’t do this work”, or “I love being paid for my work”, or “I will get this work done so I can enjoy my time off”

“I will/won’t do something about my career”, or “I will create a plan for my future career success”, or “If I make a plan for my career I will achieve my goals”

You’re left with a clear direction. You won’t be left feeling wrong, or lacking – you’re decisive.

You have direction and you know what you want and you will begin to achieve things instead of getting stuck in the ‘shoulds’!

The ‘shoulds’ will still happen in your thinking process for a time, but once you start to take them out of your speech, you’ll find they will disappear altogether!

Hasta La Vista should!

Image from here.
Tags:

1 Response to "Why you never ‘should’ do anything"

[…] P.S On my other blog I talk about how you ‘never should do anything’ – check it. […]

Leave a Reply

Personal and Professional Development Coach, Julia Herne

Truth, Joy and Love are one and the same Where you find one, you will find the others - Conversations with God (Neale Donald Walsh)

Find What You’re Looking For…

(c) All images on this blog are copyright to me unless otherwise indicated. If you want to use any images please ask first.
